September 15 2012 – Full Disclosure

Full Disclosure

LANG and SHELLEY, at SHELLEY’s door. LANG wears a nice suit. SHELLEY is also dressed nicely, though not as formally. SHELLEY is moving in for a kiss. LANG interrupts it.

LANG
You need to know I didn’t come straight from work!

Beat.

Like, I went home from work and I changed into this suit and I knew that I’d be a bit overdressed but I also felt like I needed to make it clear I was a lawyer because I felt like you maybe didn’t believe me.

SHELLEY
Okay.

Moves in again.

LANG
Like a lot of lawyers don’t ever have to wear suits, but no one buys you as a lawyer unless you’re in a suit.

Beat.

So. Full disclosure.

SHELLEY
Okay.

Moves in again.

LANG
But I am a lawyer.

SHELLEY
Oh I believe you.

Moves in again.

LANG
And I did mean what I said at dinner about not being sure how I feel about relationships, I stand by that statement. Although I am actively going on dates, so I guess that says something that maybe I wasn’t even really aware of, so I guess my statement is accurate, I don’t KNOW how I feel. I’m ambivalent. But I know I like you a lot. And I like your laugh. And your eyes, which are very close right now. And I think you seem like you have a lot of cool feelings and stuff but I don’t want to hurt any of them because I am truly ambivalent, not about you, at all, but about…future…conditions-

SHELLEY (Inches from a kiss, seductive)
Hey.

LANG
Sorry, did you have-

SHELLEY
You need to shut up. I know all this. I read your profile. That’s what those are for.

LANG
They can also be used to misrepresent-

She reaches out and takes hold of the knot of his tie. He stops talking.

SHELLEY
Look, this is kissing me. This isn’t signing a contract. I don’t want you to sign a contract. I want you to kiss me.

LANG (As he moves in)
I bought you flowers and forgot about them, they’re in the back seat.

SHELLEY (As she moves in)
I saw them.

They meet, and explode in a kiss that goes on for longer than any of us would be comfortable watching.

Creative Commons License
This work by Ryan F. Hughes is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

2 thoughts on “September 15 2012 – Full Disclosure

Leave a Reply

