September 18 2012 – Tough Day at the Office

Tough Day at the Office

MCFEELY and GIRL. MCFEELY has just arrived, seems pretty shaken. Removes his suit jacket puts on his leather jacket. GIRL is at computer, in a bit of a work daze.

MCFEELY
Boy, some days I tell ya, it’s hard to be practicing family law.

GIRL
Mm-hm.

MCFEELY
Especially if you’re representing a father.

GIRL
Uh-huh.

Silence.

MCFEELY
Women are new to the abuse of power, and they kind of revel in it.

GIRL
Mm-hm.

Pause. She looks at him.

Hang on, what was that you said.

MCFEELY
Well…I just said-

GIRL
Never mind I heard what you said. I don’t know though, I don’t feel like women are NEW to that. I think women have had a chance to observe it up close for a while. I think they’re reasonably familiar with it.

MCFEELY
Ah.

GIRL
“Ah”, what?

MCFEELY
Nothing, I just thought you were-…

Gestures.

GIRL
What, “cool”?

MCFEELY shrugs.

I am cool. I’m very cool. Which case is this?

MCFEELY
Scheider.

GIRL
Okay. I buy that. I buy that she’s vexatious. But WOMEN? We all do this? I got meritless wrath just hangin around my ovaries? Is that where you were steering?

MCFEELY
Oh, now-

GIRL
Do you go case by case and consider the possibility that your clients might be – and this is men and women here, I’m talking – might be…misrepresenting themselves? Even just to themselves? That they might be invested in feeling like the wounded party with the heroic struggle, no matter the facts? That’s one I’m really struggling to get a straight answer on. Or do you just de facto believe them because they’re the ones paying for your very age-appropriate skinny jeans?

MCFEELY (Scolding finger out)
Now LISTEN-

GIRL
Uh oh. Did I cross a line, disagreeing with you? Am I in trouble here for speaking my mind? We were discussing abuse of power, yes? As it relates to women?

Pause.

MCFEELY (Petulant)
I like it better when you just ignore me.

GIRL (Sympathetic)
I like that too.

GIRL goes back to work.

Long settling silence.

MCFEELY
Did I ever tell you about how I did a bunch of abortion cases? Back in the day?

Nothing from GIRL.

Pushing past lines of angry people and signs, my hand on my client’s shoulder, pushing us through? Sometimes I’d loan her my coat. For disguise. For protection sometimes.

Nothing from GIRL

Couple of high profile ones. Medium profile. Abortion was huge for a while there. And I really helped.

GIRL
You must’ve got laid a lot.

Silence.

MCFEELY (Small, defensive)
A bit…

Creative Commons License
This work by Ryan F. Hughes is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

