September 27 2012 – Right Right

Right Right

A and B on the phone. B’s eyes have glazed over and the responses are automatic.

A
I mean it’s just so humiliating.

B
Right.

A
I’m a grown man.

B
Right.

A
And I know my credit’s in the toilet and they have to safeguard their interests.

B
Right.

A
Which is such bullshit anyway because they don’t.

B
Right.

A
They’ve got all the money.

B
Right.

A
It’s just so humiliating.

B
Right right.

A
Not one call for a job interview this week.

B
Right.

A
Maybe they can tell how pathetic I am over email.

B
Right right.

A
Are you even listening to me.

B
Right.

Beat.

B snaps back.

Beat.

But I should go.

A
Okay.

B
But try not to get so discouraged.

A
Right.

B
Things will turn around.

A
I’m sorry it’s always like this these days.

B
No.

A
I just don’t have anything good to talk about. The move was really hard on me.

B
Right.

A
How are YOU?

B
Good! Everything’s going really good!

A
Good.

B
Looking forward to quitting.

A
Right.

B
That’ll be a nice change.

A
Right right.

B
So yeah. Pretty good over all.

A
Right.

B
I mean…I think how bad everything is is mostly a head thing.

Beat.

A
Rrright

B
Just a way you’re thinking of everything, the way-

A
Just in my head, gotcha.

Beat.

B
Have you…ever…thought…about…talking to someone?

Beat

A
Sometimes.

B
Maybe you should talk to someone.

A
Maybe.

B
A person whose job it is. Who could…that’s all they would need to do for you.

Pause.

Well…think about it?

A
Right.

B
I have to go.

A
Right.

B
Okay.
Love ya.

A
Bye, Mom.

They hang up.

Creative Commons License
This work by Ryan F. Hughes is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

