September 28 2012 – The One Time

The One Time

During a sex act, in the dark, though the physical particulars are not seen, should not be explicitly simulated. Bodies obscured in the staging, perhaps, or performers standing apart and simply performing with voice only. Perhaps just voices in the dark. The focus is the voices not the bodies. Two of them.

Lights out.

Here.
Here.

Lights out.

We’re already here.

I shouldn’t be doing this.

(Grinning) That’s why you’re doing it.

This is the one time.

We’ll see.

Lights out.

No.
I need your-

(moan)
I want the lights out.

I want this to not be the one time.

I told you.

It’s my name too.

I know.

It’s not my fault he has my name.

You have his.
Lights.

You might see someone you don’t want in the dark.

Beat.

Take my

What are you-

Take them
(sigh)
Like, yes, that

Look at me

Shut up just

Look at me

Just, hands, no

Both breathing.

Just say it

(Breathing)

It’s all you’re thinking just say it

Hair

My name

Hair

Like that

(sharp exhalation)

Is that okay

Yes shut up yes

Say my name

Shut up

Say it

Shut

Say it

Uh

It’s my name

Uh!

Say it

AH

It’s mine, say it

AH
AH

Now

AH

Now

CO-

Yeah

CO-

Yeah

COME BACK!

fuck

WHERE did you-

fuck

where are you

ah

come back

ah

where are you

look at me

shut up

Both breathing
Settling

i should go

I was saying before.

Beat

Right I can do that I can just

Dressing

You think this is happening again.
Pause
I told you and I told you

It’s my name too.

Yeah. Too.
I know it’s not fair.
There’s nothing I can do for that.
Don’t make me regret this more.

I don’t know if I can just-

Then you lied to me, what am I supposed-

Maybe it changed.

Then I didn’t sign on for that.

Pause

I don’t think I can just-

Then don’t. Disappear.
Or figure it out.
I’ll be here either way. Doing my thing.
And it will never
again
be this thing.

It’s a name for fuck sake.

Yeah.
But it’s a big one out where I live.
And you just got here.
Pause
Sun’s coming up. Birds are about to start.
I need to be asleep for that.
Door locks behind you as you leave.
You don’t even have to turn around.

Creative Commons License
This work by Ryan F. Hughes is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

