September 30 2012 – Too Smart

THIS SCENE is kind of an early experiment of a scene for a longer play I’m writing with a super-talented collaborator. That fact can sit here and be interesting to those who might find it interesting.

Too Smart

AMY on a sparsely populated subway platform. STEALTH approaches from an unthreatening angle, gets her eye contact, kind of hovers as he continues moving past her. Slows almost all the way down. She is locked onto him, wondering what’s up waiting for him to talk. Finally he makes a kind of “never mind” gesture, starts to walk away.

AMY
No, what?

STEALTH stops. Turns around where he is, keeps his distance.

STEALTH
Just made a mistake. Don’t worry about it.

AMY
I’m not worried. What did you need.

STEALTH
No, it’s not like that.

AMY
Thought I was someone else?

STEALTH
In a way.

AMY
Well now I’m-

STEALTH
You’re just all wrong.

Beat.

AMY
Come closer, this is a bit shouty, wrong for what.

STEALTH (Steps in a bit)
I was gonna pick you up.

AMY
You were-

STEALTH
Yeah. But really, don’t worry, I just made a-

AMY
Are you one of those guys that tries to get numbers?

STEALTH
Not numbers. Not tries. But yeah.

Beat.

I was gonna take you back to your place, since you were on your way home from classes, I figure. We’d have some fun, I’d go on my way. All very respectful, and modern and everything. But then I got a good look at you and I knew it wouldn’t work.

AMY
Ha, okay, fuck off, goodnight.

STEALTH
No, no, MY thing wouldn’t work. On you. So I was just gonna-

AMY
Yeah? Why not.

STEALTH
Too smart.

Beat.

I’d get made, you’d tell me to fuck off. And hey, I called it.

AMY
Too smart.

STEALTH gestures: “exactly”.

How can you tell.

STEALTH
Oh. Eyes. Carriage, to a certain degree.

AMY
Like posture.

STEALTH
More than posture. But anyway.

AMY
Too smart.

STEALTH
Yeah.

AMY
Wouldn’t work on me.

STEALTH
Oh, eventually, yeah, because you want it to.

Beat.

But there’s just not enough time.

AMY
Train’s coming, that kind of thing.

STEALTH shrugs, “alas”. Starts to leave.

You could try.

STEALTH
I was really just looking for something-

AMY
But you’d prefer something more like me.

Beat.

STEALTH
That takes time.

AMY
I might surprise you. Take some time.

Rumble from the tunnel.

STEALTH
Train’s coming.

AMY
We’re getting on. I’m uptown. That’ll give you some time.

Train roars into the station.

Creative Commons License
This work by Ryan F. Hughes is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

