October 03 2012 – Complaints and Repairs

Complaints and Repairs

MAN and WOMAN sit under a beautiful tree in a nice park. MAN is holding a wristwatch out in his hand. They both look at it, she admiringly, he less so.

WOMAN
Really nice!

MAN
Mm.

WOMAN
Fancy!

Lucky they couldn’t fix the other one!

‘Cause this seems like an upgrade!

MAN
Took long enough.

WOMAN
Worth the wait, right?

You were obviously excited about getting this watch.

Wouldn’t shut up about it, some days!

MAN
About getting the other one fixed.

WOMAN
Well, I think it’s lovely. I think it’s better.

MAN shrugs.

Come on it’s obviously better. Scientifically.

MAN
I put it on last night and I didn’t feel any different.

This morning the streetcar was still crowded.

Phone was still ringing at work, people on the other end are still idiots.

I waited so long for this watch to be fixed.

My boss is still hopeless.

Nothing is different.

Pause.

WOMAN
Yeah, I hear that’s a real defect with this brand.

MAN
You still don’t love me.

Pause.

My foot still hurts.

WOMAN
I do so love you!

MAN
But not really.

WOMAN (Smiling, smiling)
I put up with this horseshit, don’t I?

MAN (Off his last line)
Not in the way I need.

Not in a way that counts.

Pause. She grows silent.

He puts the watch to his ear.

Can’t even hear it ticking.

Silence. He sighs, puts watch on his wrist.

Well, at least I know what time it is, I guess.

Silence.

WOMAN
I need a new bike.

Creative Commons License
This work by Ryan F. Hughes is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

